My Food Plate

America’s Federal Government has decided to do away with the horrible, horrible, food pyramid that came out a few years back (in 2006!! Sheesh, time flies!) Here, in their new design, simplicity reigns supreme, with no references to sugar, beans and meat, or fats and oils. Instead, we have five categories: fruits, vegetables, grains, protein and dairy. And while the serving sizes is still a little ambiguous in the graphic above, it is clear that they are recommending that the majority of one’s diet should be consist of vegetables and grains. If one goes to the website at, they clarify their points with only 7 specific recommendations in 3 seperate categories:

Balancing Calories
● Enjoy your food, but eat less.
● Avoid oversized portions.

Foods to Increase
● Make half your plate fruits and vegetables.
● Make at least half your grains whole grains.
● Switch to fat-free or low-fat (1%) milk.

Foods to Reduce
● Compare sodium in foods like soup, bread, and frozen meals ― and choose the foods with lower numbers.
● Drink water instead of sugary drinks.

Overall, while there are flaws, it’s much better that this:

… which was clearly a result of politicking from various lobbying groups. If forced to grade the USDA, I’d give them a solid ‘B’ with an added note of “Much Improved!”